TSU teaches the Russian language to students from 40 countries

This year, TSU Faculty of Pre-University Training is helping students from 40 countries around the world master the Russian language, up from 33 countries last year. The courses are held online, but many students hope to see Tomsk with their own eyes soon.

According to the teachers of the TSU Faculty of Pre-University Training, this academic year 166 students are in the training program for foreign citizens wishing to study at TSU. The classes are held from Monday to Friday on Zoom. The students are divided into 14 groups of 10-12 people according to their language level and time zones. Students who already understand basic Russian can join the Russian Language Speaking Club.

“We are glad to see our audience growing. This year, we have students from Lebanon, Libya, Ivory Coast, Malawi, Panama, Romania, and Singapore joining us on Zoom for daily classes. For independent work, they use the practical Russian language courses on Moodle,” says Kristina Zizer, an educational designer of the Faculty of Pre-University Training.

People who study the Russian language at TSU come from diverse backgrounds, cultures, religions, and vocations, and also vary in age – from 18 to 50 years and more. They are all united by their interest in the Russian language, culture, and Tomsk. Most of the preparatory courses’ students later continue their studies at TSU’s main educational programs. Already students want to witness the Russian winter in person and meet their teachers face to face.

“We want to welcome our students at TSU as soon as possible. In the meantime, we create additional resources for them to practice their language skills and get acquainted with the culture. For example, our faculty has a YouTube channel with video lessons on the Russian grammar, speech situations, and excursions around Tomsk,” added Kristina Zizer.

In 2021-2022, the students of the Faculty of Pre-university Training come from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Benin, Brazil, China, Cote d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Lebanon, Libya, Malawi, Mexico, Mongolia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Turkey, the Union of the Comoros, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.